New Hand Guards for the CRF250L

Part of owning a bike, surely, is tricking it out. I’ve got a whole bunch of ideas in my head and the process started some time back with the construction and fitting of a carrier/luggage rack for the back (more of this in a future post). One of the things I wanted to add were some hand guards for the handle bars and so I headed down to Accessories ULTD in Pietermaritzburg and chatted to the helpful and knowledgeable Cindy. “These”, she said and handed me a large pack of black guards. “White?” I asked…. “Only black in stock but we can easily get you white if you’d prefer…” I chose the black, wanting to get them installed before our ride planned for Saturday.

My original plan was for white but they only had black, and now that the hand guards have been installed I kind of like them black.
My original plan was for white but they only had black, and now that the hand guards have been installed I kind of like them black.

That night I had a go at installing them and couldn’t figure it out. The mounting bar seemed way too long and it looked like I would have to cut and bend them to fit. Sensibly I let things lie and dropped an email to Hyde South Africa to see if they could help and the next morning gave Bernadette at Accessories and call as well.  “I’ll look into it and get back to you…” About the same time Roxanne from Hyde mailed back with the name and contact details for Hyde’s manufacturing manager and both Bernadette and Dave couldn’t really understand what the problem was… Back to the workshop.

The whole job of installing the hand guards of the CRF250L took about 30minutes - not too bad really
The whole job of installing the hand guards of the CRF250L took about 30minutes – not too bad really

In the cold, grey light of the early morn (actually it was the next afternoon but that sounds more dramatic) things were much simpler. What was I thinking?! They actually fitted remarkably easily. I cut a hole in the end of the grip on the LH side and the expanding bolt just slid in. On the RH side did the same and drilled and filed out the plastic inner of the throttle until the guard fitted snugly without inhibiting the throttle return. The LH guard bar needed to be bent a tad but other that that it was a doddle. The only real change I made was to substitute the supplied M6 steel cap screws for stainless ones.

Detail of the mountains bracket - I changes the original cap screws for stainless steel versions.
Detail of the mounting bracket – I changed the original cap screws for stainless steel versions.

Roger de la Harpe

Leave a Reply

